2020 Excellence in Agribusiness Awards – Finalists

Food & Fibre Gippsland have announced 34 finalists for the 2020 Excellence in Agribusiness Awards. The Awards program received an outstanding 115 entries across Gippsland which was an overwhelming result considering COVID-19 has been a big distraction and upheaval for many agribusinesses.

Head Judge of the Awards program Paul Ford is impressed with the quality of entrants and subsequent finalists.

All 115 applications are worthy and the three or four candidates we have shortlisted in each category have rich and diverse stories that showcase all that’s great about Gippsland’s vibrant $7 billion food & fibre sector.”

The judging panel’s ongoing insight and effort to select winners of each category and develop these stories is deeply valued. The end result of sharing the stories with key stakeholders is to attract talented people to develop a career in the sector, attract new investment, position Gippsland food & fibre as a priority for the three levels of government, and to mobilise new innovations across the value chain.” 

The competition adopts a two-tiered approach with three premier awards, KPMG Agribusiness of the Year, ARLF Young Agribusiness Leader of the Year, and Leadership Victoria Female Agribusiness Leader of the Year, followed by a range of twelve awards across the entire food and fibre industry.

All finalists have the chance to win the Agribusiness of the Year award – the prize is a scholarship to participate in KPMG’s Agri-Food Tech Traction Tour. 

Excellence Awards Program Manager Kate Gunn is also pleased with the impressive lineup of finalists.

This year we have managed to attract entrants from a terrific cross section of industry, size and location which is very important in promoting our region’s agribusinesses and truly celebrating Gippsland. I wish all finalists the best of luck in the next round of judging and look forward to sharing their stories in the lead up to the winners being announced” she said.

The second round of judging will commence online next week with the panel aiming to identify those with the strongest track record and who can present a clear strategy for the future of their agribusiness.

Food & Fibre Gippsland CEO, Nicola Pero, noted “Congratulations to all participants on the outstanding calibre of entries. This industry recognition program grows in strength every year and Food & Fibre Gippsland, together with all the partners, are proud these awards help profile the sector, business successes and provenance of our Gippsland region.” The winners will be announced at a high-profile industry Gala Presentation event scheduled for 20 November 2020. Work is underway on developing on-line and/or socially distanced event options for this presentation in preparation for changes driven by COVID restrictions.

2020 FINALISTS PER CATEGORY – Keep an eye on our website for the winners when they are announced soon!

Australian Rural Leadership Foundation
Young Agribusiness Leader of the Year
Rob Bayley (Blackwood Piggery)
Dave Caldwell (Coonmoor Pastoral Co)
Victoria Green (Bacchus Beef)
Ben Murphy (Tambo Valley Honey)
Leadership Victoria
Female Agribusiness Leader of the Year Victoria Green (Bacchus Beef)
Jill Noble (The Sheep Show Podcast)
Gabrielle Moore (Sailors Grave Brewing)
Ferial Zekiman (Maffra Cheese Co)
Agriculture Victoria
Excellence in Service to the Food & Fibre Industry
Vic Engineering & Silos, Maffra
Warragul Farmers’ Market, Warragul
Xcheque, Glen Alvie
Bass Coast Shire Council
Excellence in Sustainability
Flavorite Tomatoes, Warragul
Mannys Market, Morwell
Mulgowie Farming, Maffra
Schreurs & Sons, Clyde
Baw Baw Shire Council
Excellence in Workforce Capability Greenham Gippsland, Moe
Jaydee – Cows Create Careers, Loch
Victoria Valley Meats, Trafalgar  
Commonwealth Bank
Excellence in Entrepreneurship
Berry Sensation, Shady Creek
Burra Brewing, Korumburra
Little Bumble Wraps, Warragul
South Gippsland Dairy, Korumburra
Excellence in Food & Drink Manufacturing (large)
Greenham Gippsland, Moe
Maffra Cheese Co, Tinamba
ViPlus Dairy, Toora
East Gippsland Shire Council
Excellence in Fibre Industry
Alberton Timber, Alberton
Forge Creek Lambs, Eagle Point
Just Add Trees, Buln Buln
Radial Timber, Yarram
Federation University
Excellence in Research & Development Berry Sensation, Shady Creek
Schreurs & Sons, Clyde
Soilkee, Hallora
South Gippsland Dairy, Korumburra
Latrobe City Council
Excellence in Food & Drink Manufacturing (small)
Burra Brewing, Korumburra
Gurney’s Cidery, Foster
Sailors Grave Brewing, Orbost
Tonemade, Inveloch
National Australia Bank
Excellence in Innovation
Alberton Timber, Alberton
Berry Sensation, Shady Creek
Gurney’s Cidery, Foster
Soilkee, Hallora
South Gippsland Shire Council
Excellence in Exporting
Greenham Gippsland, Moe
Hussey & Co, Newry
Omnia, Morwell
TAFE Gippsland
Excellence in Collaborative Partnerships
Omnia, Morwell
Sailors Grave Brewing, Orbost
Snowy River Black Garlic, Jarrahmond
Totally Renewable Phillip Island, Phillip Island
Wellington Shire Council
Excellence in Adaption to Change
Coonmoor Pastoral Co, Lindenow South
Purely Goats Milk Soap, Nilma
Schreurs & Sons, Clyde
Victoria Valley Meats, Trafalgar